纪念残疾人权利运动之“母亲”朱迪·休曼的一生和遗产 7 月 17, 2023

纪念残疾人权利运动之“母亲”朱迪·休曼的一生和遗产

当我们继续庆祝残疾人骄傲月时,我们觉得我们必须向残疾人权利运动的“母亲”致敬, 朱迪思·“朱迪”·休曼(1947-2023)。

18 个月大时,朱迪感染了小儿麻痹症,随后开始使用轮椅行动。朱迪五岁时就被剥夺了上学的权利,因为她乘坐轮椅被认为是“火灾隐患”。

晚年,朱迪渴望成为一名教师,决心改变教育范围,使其更具包容性。尽管她通过了口试和笔试,但多年前曾将她拒之门外的那个学区却拒绝了她的教学执照。朱迪起诉纽约教育委员会,最终成为纽约州第一个坐轮椅教书的人。 

1974 年,朱迪作为旧金山 504 静坐抗议的领导人而声名狼藉。 《康复法》第 504 条规定:“在美国,任何符合资格的残疾人不得仅因其残疾而被排除在参与任何接受其资助的计划或活动中、被剥夺其福利或受到歧视。联邦财政援助。”本质上,它表示接受联邦资金的任何计划都不能歧视残疾人。这次持续 26 天的抗议——迄今为止在联邦大楼内最长的静坐——导致《康复法案》第 504 条被签署成为法律。朱迪在制定和实施其他立法方面发挥了重要作用,包括《残疾人教育法》、《美国残疾人法》和《联合国残疾人权利公约》。这些立法对于促进美国和全世界残疾人的融入发挥了不可或缺的作用。 1983年,朱迪与埃德·罗伯茨和琼·莱昂共同创立了世界残疾人研究所,并担任联合所长直至1993年。 世界残疾人研究所 通过设计和提供整个社区解决方案,促进残疾人的包容、权利和正义。

朱迪继续为克林顿和奥巴马政府服务,并出现在奥斯卡提名的纪录片中 残疾人营:一场残疾人革命 并写道, 成为休曼:一位残疾人权利活动家的不悔改的回忆录.

朱迪曾经说过:“变化永远不会以我们认为应该发生的速度发生。经过多年的努力,人们齐心协力,制定战略,分享信息,并利用一切可能的手段。渐渐地,缓慢得令人难以忍受,事情开始发生,然后突然间,似乎出乎意料,有些事情会发生翻天覆地的变化。”当我们继续庆祝残疾人骄傲月时,我们希望继承朱迪的遗产,并从她的生活中学习。

相关文章

Faces of ACLD

We are unstoppable. At ACLD, we are dedicated to uplifting individuals with autism, learning and developmental disabilities and showing the…

更多的

Women’s History Month Reflection

By: Donna Celardo, Senior Director of Day, Clinical, and Community Support Services As we celebrate Women’s History Month, let’s celebrate…

更多的

纪念残疾人权利运动之“母亲”朱迪·休曼的一生和遗产

纪念朱迪·休曼的一生和遗产

更多的

年终呼吁——发电机活动

今年的发电机活动是支持者制作年度礼物或节日礼物的好方法。随着水平...

更多的

Honoring the Life and Legacy of Judy Heumann, ‘the Mother’ of the Disability Rights Movement July 17, 2023

Honoring the Life and Legacy of Judy Heumann, ‘the Mother’ of the Disability Rights Movement

As we continue our Disability Pride Month celebrations, we feel we must pay homage to “the mother” of the Disability Rights Movement, Judith “Judy” Heumann (1947-2023).

At 18 months old, Judy contracted polio and subsequently began to use a wheelchair for her mobility. At just the age of five, Judy was denied the right to attend school because she was considered a “fire hazard” as a wheelchair user.

Later in life, Judy aspired to be a teacher, determined to change the scope of education to be more inclusive. Despite passing her oral and written exams, she was denied her teaching license by the same district that had turned her away all those years before. Judy sued the New York Board of Education and eventually became the first wheelchair user to teach in New York State. 

Judy gained national notoriety in 1974 as the leader of the 504 sit-in in San Francisco. Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act said, “No otherwise qualified handicapped individual in the United States shall solely on the basis of his handicap, be excluded from the participation, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.” Essentially it said no program receiving federal funds could discriminate against a person with a disability. This 26-day protest– the longest sit-in at a federal building to date– led to Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act being signed into law. Judy was instrumental in developing and implementing other legislation, including the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. These pieces of legislation have been integral in advancing the inclusion of disabled people in the US and worldwide. In 1983, Judy co-founded the World Institute on Disability with Ed Roberts and Joan Leon and served as co-director until 1993. The World Institute on Disability advances the inclusion, rights and justice of people with disabilities with the design and delivery of whole community solutions.

Judy went on to serve the Clinton and Obama administrations, was featured in the Oscar-nominated documentary Crip Camp: A Disability Revolution and wrote, Being Heumann: An Unrepentant Memoir of a Disability Rights Activist.

Judy once said, “Change never happens at the pace we think it should. It happens over years of people joining together, strategizing, sharing, and pulling all the levers they possibly can. Gradually, excruciatingly slowly, things start to happen, and then suddenly, seemingly out of the blue, something will tip.” As we continue to celebrate Disability Pride Month, we hope to carry Judy’s legacy with us and to learn from the life she led.

Related Articles

Faces of ACLD

We are unstoppable. At ACLD, we are dedicated to uplifting individuals with autism, learning and developmental disabilities and showing the…

more

Women’s History Month Reflection

By: Donna Celardo, Senior Director of Day, Clinical, and Community Support Services As we celebrate Women’s History Month, let’s celebrate…

more

Honoring the Life and Legacy of Judy Heumann, ‘the Mother’ of the Disability Rights Movement

Honoring the life and legacy of Judy Heumann

more

Year End Appeal – Generator Campaign

This year’s Generator Campaign is a great way for supporters to make an annual gift or holiday-time gift. With levels…

more